Neil Gaiman    www.NeilgaimanBoard.com    www.NeilgaimanBoard.com  Hop To Forum Categories  Neil's Other Works  Hop To Forums  more Other Works    Neverwhere-Door costume input
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Neverwhere-Door costume input
 Login/Join

posted
Hello all!
I just joined this forum! Whee!

I am going to the House on the Rock/American Gods party in October, but as I don't have a particularly godlike countenance, I decided to go as another Gaiman character...Door, from Neverwhere. I happen to think I look rather a lot like her (or at least the way she's described in the book, which is what I"m going for). Here are some photos of me for reference:

These are from a previous incarnation of a Door outfit that I made from some thrift-store bits and pieces a while back. However, i want this costume to be MORE AWESOMER...since Neil himself is judging the costume contest, and I could win a ride on the World's largest Carousel!!

As a note, I am a fashion design student and seamstress by trade.

Anyway, here are the materials that I have gathered for this project:

Ignore the other crap on the floor...my workspace is a mess >_>;;
These are the fabrics I have so far. From left to right, clockwise:
offwhite chiffon, some kind of purplish twill, burgundy lace, white lace, cream lace, burgundy velveteen in the center, burgundy crinkle satin, and fancy brocade.

The description of her outfit is sort of vague, just saying that she has lots of layers of various fabrics on. I am thinking of making a vest-like contraption from the brocade, but I"m not sure what else to do. Any suggestions?

Also, i know it's a bit premature to think about footwear, but here are my options:

Engineer boots (dirty 'cause they're my explorin' boots)

Victorian-style boots

And my ass-kicking stompy boots (as seen in the above photos)

WHich do you like best?