New
Find
Notify
Tools

Question for Neil!
 Login/Join

posted
Hello Neil,
I am a student of Translation and Interpreting at Granada’s University. Following a course dedicated to literary translation, my partner Celia and I were told to translate something new, fresh that may have not been translated into Spanish yet. We chose “The Graveyard Book” and translated chapter 1. We had to offer the class a presentation in relation to your biography, work and of course, this book. We need to handle a written essay concerning the problems and doubts we had when translating the chapter and we did have one. We had some trouble translating the expression “The Jack man”. We could not find an equivalent or explanation concerning this issue and when we asked native friends they could not give us an answer either. We would appreciate it a lot if you could explain us if there is any meaning hiding in that name or if it is just a name, a way to call that character.
Thank you very much, it was an excellent book, good luck for this movie, we wish you the best for your future projects.
María

Posts: 2 | Registered: January 26, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
*Special Achievement Award Winner 2010* shines on like the stars
Picture of library lady
posted Hide Post
Neil doesn't read the message board. You have to go to the FAQ. (And he doesn't respond to homework questions very often.)

Jack in a very common name in english writing. exapmles are:
Jack of all trades
jack of heart
jack be nimble
jack and giant killer
jack and the beanstalk
and many more.

+++
Life is too short to read a bad book.

Posts: 2485 | Location: Page 42 | Registered: December 27, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Weirdy American Tart Thing
Picture of Maeve
posted Hide Post
Neil doesn't read the message boards. There is a link in our FAQ section for where to send questions. I would suggest googling his online journal to make sure he hasn't already answered your question.

Welcome aboard.